Register

Welcome to Animal Forum. The Web's best online community for Pet and Animal Lovers.

If this is your first visit, be sure to check out the FAQ by clicking the link above. You may have to register before you can post: click the register link above to proceed.

Has anyone gotten pets for therapy animals?

Therapy animals are a big part of my life. Dealing with paranoia, anxiety, panic attacks, etc. I've always used animals as a way to help me deal with my problems. My first was a pomchi named Leilah, and then I had 5 rats, now my current dog Sandy. How about you guys? Have you ever owned any therapy animals?

Re: Has anyone gotten pets for therapy animals?

I have no personal experience of this, but there is a good article here: http://www.wideopenpets.com/6-types-...d-for-therapy/

Quote Originally Posted by LPC View Post
    I have no personal experience of this, but there is a good article here: http://www.wideopenpets.com/6-types-...d-for-therapy/
    Every animal I got was for therapy pretty much. I was curious to know how many others on this forum might do the same, but I guess no one here really has. Therapy animals are different from service animals though, and don't really need any special training. My boyfriend's dad owns a service dog, but it's a stressful job and with the wrong training you get a anxious dog...

My friend applied for her dog to become a therapy dog, and after much paperwork and some training, she is now officially a therapy dog. There is no pay involved, just time and love to help people out. I think it's a great idea!

I too don't have any personal experience.What does it mean??

Quote Originally Posted by Paw Campus View Post
    I too don't have any personal experience.What does it mean??