PDA

View Full Version : YAH!!!

DogMom
08-15-2007, 03:51 PM
I think I got the job at the Animal Shelter!!!! The Detective running my application called me yesterday saying he had called to verify my highschool diploma but they told him that no one under that name attended there. He said he knew I graduated from there because he already verified my college degree (and you have to have a highschool diploma for college). But he had to have it verified anyway. So I called the high school and cleared it all up (he asked for me with my married name--he hadn't realized I put my maiden name on the app too). Then he called me later and said he was calling my references and was confused on one.

Okay, I got a kick out of this one. He asked about so and so and said under occupation I put (city) ACO........he said no one in the office knew what ACO stood for.

Um.......errr.......Animal Control Officer perhaps???

So my ACO friend called me this afternoon and said he called her and they talked for about 45 minutes. She said he told her that I sound like the kind of person they need out there. And she felt pretty confident he was going to call me about the job.

I'm trying not to get too excited but it's so hard. It'll be a lot easier for me there than at the clinic I was at. A lot of what I've learned I've done so by the shelter supervisor--who is on the same path with the few of us who think vaccinations cause more harm than good and so on and so forth.

So it'll be really nice if I get this job. Not to mention, I'd be employed by the city (NICE pay and excellent benefits). LOL

countrychic10
08-15-2007, 08:22 PM
Oh wow! Congrats!!! Keeping all my fingers crossed for you on this one :)

DogMom
09-04-2007, 03:13 PM
Well I had my interview on the 23rd and a few days later I got a letter in the mail thanking me for my application and after careful consideration I ranked 7 out of the other 22 applicants and they'd be putting my application on file for future consideration.