PDA

View Full Version : Hound mix

mypet
06-07-2007, 08:23 AM
Can anyone explain what is "hound mix"? I am new to the dog world and so is this silly question. Does it mean Bassett Hound mix? Thanks in advance!

countrychic10
06-07-2007, 08:53 AM
Not a silly question...a hound mix..is a mixed breed dog (mutt) that has hound in it.

Here is a list of the AKC Hound group:

https://www.akc.org/breeds/hound_group.cfm

A hound mix can be a mix of several different hounds...just two different hounds or some other type of breed mixed with a hound breed.

Basically, just a mutt with some sort of hound in the background. :)

mypet
06-07-2007, 09:03 AM
Thank you, countrychic10. I got it :D . Slowly, i am learning more about dogs. Thanks to AF and to my fellow members.

countrychic10
06-07-2007, 09:21 AM
Just takes time.....If I was you I would put the AKC on my fav list online. It's full of breed specific info, info on dog sports and even legislation concerning pets. :) Not to mention they have an online store where you can get all sorts of doggie goodies :)

mypet
06-07-2007, 10:09 AM
Thanks for the info. I will add AKC site to my favorites. Thanks!

BelleKitty
06-02-2011, 12:15 PM
I really enjoy looking at mutts and trying to determine what breed attributes they have... a lot like looking at humans and figuring out their heritage! ;)

ntn103
07-20-2012, 10:53 PM
nything mixed with a hound breed. Could be a beagle mix, coonhound mix, etc.

Since it's a mix, you can't generalize what it will be like. Also, a lot will be up to you andhow well you socialize it with other nice dogs and people.

If you already have a dog in your home and want to bring in a new dog, just make sure you go with the opposite sex of what you already have. Male/Female pairings usually get on better than male/male or female/female.

epetclubindia
10-16-2012, 05:03 AM
The hounds are the original hunting dogs

http://www.petclubindia.com/dog-breeds/

cezik
12-02-2012, 01:49 AM