PDA

View Full Version : Cat Breeds

Shining-Starz
09-02-2006, 08:42 PM
Hello,

I am new to cats so I want to ask about their breeds...

1. How many breeds are there?
2. Which of these wont shed fur?

countrychic10
09-02-2006, 08:48 PM
LOL. I probably shouldn't even be responding to this post since I'm not much of a cat person. But I will give it my best shot . :D I know there are several different breeds of cats, I just couldn't give you a number. I do know there are a few breeds who are hairless and don't shed...I believe it is called the Sphinx?? Someone correct me if Im wrong on that. :D

Here is a site that may or may not be useful to you.

http://www.cfainc.org/breeds.html

Arazante
09-02-2006, 10:21 PM
lol. I would have given the same site link above. Those are the genuine cat breeds that I know of versus the mixes or tabby cats you usually see.

countrychic10
09-03-2006, 02:40 AM
Arazante,

You mean I actually answered half way correctly on a cat related question!?!?!?!!?? WOO HOO! I did see one other site that said there were over 70 different breeds of cats....so I am not sure on the exact number on that one. Do cat registries have several like dogs?? For instance dogs have AKC, CKC, UKC ect. ect. Registries like AKC are ligitimate, but things like CKC (Conntenintal Kennel Club) are bogus and you can register anything under the sun with them. AKC only registers about 160ish breeds (sorry don't know the exact number..will look it up later), while the CKC has over 300 I believe...so I guess the number of different breeds would also depend on what registry you were looking at as well. And by the way...I spelled that breed wrong it's Sphynx...and from what little bit I read most are completly hairless and don't shed, the majority are good for ppl with allergies and they are suppossed to be a healthy hardy breed....they are sort of odd looking though...but in a cute way :D

Ragdoll Mom
09-03-2006, 12:46 PM